Research Group Leaders

There are 19 research groups in the Wellcome Centre; the leaders are listed below. Click on a link to read more details about their research.

Robin Allshire Epigenetic inheritance: establishment and transmission of specialised chromatin domains
Jeyaprakash Arulanandam Structural biology of cell division
Jean Beggs Regulation of splicing and functional links between splicing, transcription and chromatin
Adrian Bird Understanding proteins that interpret the genome to stabilise cell states
Dhanya Cheerambathur Role of microtubule cytoskeleton in building and regenerating the neural connectome
Atlanta Cook Structural biology of macromolecular complexes in RNA metabolism and transcriptional silencing
Owen Davies Structural biology of meiosis
Bill Earnshaw The role of non-histone proteins in chromosome structure and function during mitosis
Patrick Heun Establishment and maintenance of chromatin identity
Georg Kustatscher Proteome dynamics: The role of synthesis and degradation in regulating protein levels
Adele Marston Orienting chromosomes during mitosis and meiosis
Donal O'Carroll Regulation of gene expression by non-coding RNA and RNA modification
Hiro Ohkura The meiotic spindle and chromosomes in oocytes
Juri Rappsilber Cellular tomography
Ken Sawin Cell polarity and cytoskeletal organisation
David Tollervey RNA Processing and Quality Control
Malcolm Walkinshaw Molecular recognition and ligand discovery in biological systems
Julie Welburn Microtubule motor cooperation in cell division
Marcus Wilson Investigating the reading writing and erasing of epigenetic marks