Research Group Leaders

There are 19 research groups in the Wellcome Centre, the leaders are listed below. Click on a link to read more details about their research.

Robin Allshire Epigenetic inheritance: establishment and transmission of specialised chromatin domains
Jeyaprakash Arulanandam Structural biology of cell division
Jean Beggs The mechanism and regulation of pre-mRNA splicing and links to transcription
Adrian Bird Modelling the variable severity of Rett syndrome mutations
Dhanya Cheerambathur Cytoskeletal assembly and dynamics during neuronal development
Atlanta Cook Structural biology of macromolecular complexes involved in RNA metabolism
Bill Earnshaw The role of non-histone proteins in chromosome structure and function during mitosis
Patrick Heun Epigenetic inheritance and organisation of centromeres
Tony Ly Cell state transitions during cell growth and division
Adele Marston Orienting chromosomes during mitosis and meiosis
Hiro Ohkura The meiotic spindle and chromosomes in oocytes
Juri Rappsilber 3D proteomics
Ken Sawin Microtubule nucleation, cytoskeletal organisation, and cell polarity
Eric Schirmer Nuclear envelope transmembrane protein regulation of tissuespecific genome organisation in differentiation and disease
David Tollervey Nuclear RNA processing and surveillance
Philipp Voigt Molecular mechanisms of epigenetic gene regulation
Malcolm Walkinshaw Drug discovery and molecular recognition in biological systems
Julie Welburn Structural and cell biology of mitosis and microtubule motors
Marcus Wilson Mechanisms of epigenetic modifications